A Shameless Plug!

Okay, so I have been secretly working on a project. Until recently, I did not realize how attainable this dream was going to be. Now I have fully actualized it and I am ready to divulge a small portion of this dream. I have secretly been working on a non-fiction account, illustrating the existence that is chronic pain and illness. My blog has been a great way for me to feel and chronicle my life in a cathartic manner. But the reality is when it comes to pain, those who live it 24/7/365 rarely have a voice in the discussion about chronic pain, how to treat it, how to cope with it, etc. So, now I hope to give the millions of us out there, who silently suffer, a voice in the discourse!

A snippet from my project:

It is not my goal to alienate allies and supporters of chronic pain patients, but to illustrate to the masses, including our allies, the little things they may say or do that crush our spirits. I live in a state of empathy and the majority of the time, I recognize people mean well when they say things to me. Unfortunately, most of the time, they ignorantly presume telling me “Wow, you’re such an inspiration!” is somehow helpful, consoling, or will make me feel better about myself. Pro-tip: it isn’t, it doesn’t and just stop. This is a bitter pill and I am sorry, it will hurt, but try not to take it so personally. You have been conditioned by social media to martyr cancer patients, children with leukemia and other scary medical conditions. Try, if you are able, not to internalize this. But I have the right to define my existence – you have the right to define your own. This state of being is entirely frustrating, overwhelming and exhausting.

Enjoy! More to come, I promise!

– S.

Published by

salvationisadhoc

Occasionally, I write things and stuff. Sometimes they are even witty. I'm stupidly in love with my husband and a crazy cat lady. I have Ehlers-Danlos, Chiari I malformation, postural orthostatic tachycardia and autism. My words are shaped with profanity, wit, and sarcasm, because life is just such a bitch sometimes.

Leave a Reply

